So very much to write about since my last blog! The kids finished their spring vacation....getting up on Monday was so very tough! I thought it was because to LONG weekend, but I was soon to find out I was mistaken!
Sunday, April 11, 2009- Jake made his first communion at St. Mary's. We are all so proud of him. Before mass, he had asked me "Mom, did Dylan ever make his first communion?" I said "No, he got sick before he got to make his first communion". Jake- "Can I wear his FROG pin?" I said " Of course you can- you can wear it as your tie tack." Jake- "I am going to make this first communion for me and Dylan". All I could do is give him a big, fat hug and go into the bathroom and shed a tear. Jake seems to be mature so much lately. He realizes that there is a WHOLE world out there and worries about much more than himself anymore. So later this week, I realized that he was starting a new tradition and any time the boys wants to make sure Dyl is with them- they always have the pin. Luckily it's always worked for me as well! We had a beautiful day that Sunday.
Monday hit--and the first thing I did was get to Curves, after we had a real struggle to get the boys moving out the door. Jake had developed a cough over the weekend and I was noticing that Dev was starting a small cough too! I sent them to school with instructions to wash their hands ALOT and not to cough on their friends. I made it to Curves and the grocery store that day (thank goodness). All seemed well when they got home and we got ready for karate. At karate, Justin whispered to me that his ear and throat hurt a little. I told him I would take a look at it when we got home. I checked him out-didn't see anything, gave him alittle motrin for the pain and we all went to bed. We were UP and DOWN all night with the two coughing. By 6 AM Tuesday, I had already decided those two (Jake, Devin) were staying home. Down comes Justin--complaining his throat and ear hurt really bad. One look at him- I knew we were headed to the drs. His lymphs were swollen huge, one look in his throat--bright red, no fever ??, ear looked swollen. He ended up with strep and an ear infection that looked about to burst. The other two had colds and we just had to ride them out. In comes Scott at lunch- eats and throws up in the bathroom. This was the point in my day, where I wanted to move OUT. I set up little camps on the floor and couches for the boyz and turned TV on/ handed them their little games. While they rested, I started in the bathrooms and sanitized EVERYTHING. Since Justin was contagious for another 24 hrs-- I did the best "fast" work I could because I figured I would have to do it again the next day. I went to bed that night exhausted but happy (and thanking god) that we were able to get everyone on meds to cure them-- as we know--It can ALWAYS be worse. Luckily everyone slept peacefully that night. Wednesday- I sent Jake and Devin to school- they made it all day, waited til noon when Justin was officially over that 24 hr period- and DEEP cleaned the house- to get the strep germs OUT! Thursday- Justin happily went back to school, I got to curves and out to lunch with friends. Before you know it my cell phone was ringing- school nurse called for us to get Jake (I sent Scott). He was playing hard on the playground, got coughing, got sent to the nurse and had a hard time getting the coughing to stop. By the time Scott got there..it had stopped. He didn't cough the rest of night. So Friday- I sent them ALL back to school and they stayed all day. There is still some minor coughing happening, Justin feels back to himself (6 more days to go on antibiotics), Scott is still not feeling well (but won't go to the drs.)--and I am tired. Luckily, we have a pretty relaxing weekend happening for us with not a lot of plans---so we have deemed this RECOVERY WEEKEND.
As I look back, in retrospect-- this week wasn't as bad as I thought. I got to spend more time with the kids (but not to much cuddling as I didn't want to get sick) and the house got cleaned. I always have in the back of my mind-that this could always be worse. We know because we thought Dyl had mono when he was first diagnosed. Anytime I have to bring the kids to the pediatrician, I have some major apprehension that what I am seeing is something much worse- and I am missing symptoms again (I missed LOTS of symptoms with Dyl having leukemia). I then try to remember that children get sick during childhood--most of them without getting cancer and return to normal health in a few days. I do have to get myself back on track with walking, working out and eat healthy. I feel off that train this week---Don't forget to hug your kids and tell the people you love..."I LOVE YOU!"
